Tigers seeking new brand of cricket under Sohan’s leadership


The Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) announced the squads for T20 international and ODI matches against Zimbabwe on Friday, July 22, 2022, Sohan as the captain.

He was given the captaincy for the Zimbabwe T20 series only as the original T20 captain Mahmudullah Riyad was given a break. Mahmudullah, however, made the way into the ODI squad, which was also simultaneously announced for
Zimbabwe series.

Even though Sohan was given captaincy for just one series, the BCB seemed to have a special plan regarding his leadership once the senior players will retire from this format. No senior players, however, were included in the T20
squad for the Zimbabwe series.

“You can say it’s a new brand of Bangladesh team. Sohan will lead the side, which we informed Mahmudullah. No senior players were included in T20 squad for Zimbabwe series. Shakib took a break from the series earlier, Tamim retired from this format while Mahmudullah and Mushfiqur Rahim were given break,” BCB’s Cricket Operations Chairman Jalal Younus said after a closed-door meeting with Mahmudullah regarding T20 team and its plan on Friday.

“We actually want to see how the new players perform without any senior players. Let’s see what will happen,” he added.

Bangladesh will play three T20 Internationals and same number of ODI matches in this series.

All the matches will be held at the Harare Sports Club. Experienced batsman Mushfiqur Rahim, who was granted a leave for the recent tour of the West Indies, returned to the national side for the ODI series while pacer Hasan Mahmud, who last played an international match 16-month ago, made his way into both squads after regaining full fitness from an injury. Youngster Parvez Hossain Emon, who is still uncapped, made the cut in the T20 squad.

The three T20 matches are scheduled for July 30, 31 and August 2 while the ODIs are slated for August 5, 7 and 10. The T20 matches will begin from 5 PM (Bangladesh Time) and ODI matches start from 1.15 PM (Bangladesh Time).

The T20 team will leave the country on July 26 while the ODI squad will leave on July 30.

T20 Squad:

Nurul Hasan Sohan (Captain), Munim Shahriar, Anamul Haque Bijoy, Liton Das, Afif Hossain, Mahedi Hasan, Nasum Ahmed, Taskin Ahmed, Shoriful Islam, Mustafizur Rahman, Hasan Mahmud, Mosaddek Hossain Saikat, Najmul Hossain
Shanto, Mehidy Hasan Miraz and Parvez Hossain Emon

ODI Squad: Tamim Iqbal (captain), Liton Das, Anamul Haque Bijoy, Mushfiqur Rahim, Mahmudullah Riyad, Afif Hossain, Nurul Hasan Sohan, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Nasum Ahmed, Taskin Ahmed, Shoriful Islam, Mustafizur Rahman, Hasan Mahmud, Mosaddek Hossain Saikat and Taijul Islam.

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

− 9 = 1